Esch 2022
Esch 2022

Prix Laurence Competition Rules

  • The Prix Laurence rewards works of all literary genres written in Luxembourgish, German, French, English, Lithuanian, Portuguese and Italian by young authors of all nationalities aged between 12 and 26.
  • The age of the participants is the age at which the text is uploaded to the site.
  • There is no set theme and the subjects are entirely free.
  • Each participant guarantees the originality of the texts he/she submits and the texts submitted must be unpublished. They may not be published or distributed by any means, either in full or in extracts, before the publication of the competition results.
  • Entries must be uploaded on the website www.prixlaurence.lu in the section "Rules and Submissions" / "Submission Form".
  • Participants will be judged in 2 age categories: 12-17 years and 18 - 26 years.
  • The Luxembourg, Lithuanian, Italian and Portuguese juries will be composed of members who have distinguished themselves in the field of literature by their diplomas, publications or profession. The deliberations of the juries will take place behind closed doors. The decisions of the jury are final. The jury will not answer any questions from participants regarding the results of the competition.
  • Texts in Lithuanian, Italian and Portuguese will be submitted for pre-selection to a jury located in Lithuania, Italy and Portugal. These texts will then be translated into English or French and submitted to the Luxembourgish jury for final selection.
  • The grand finale will take place on 24 April 2022 in Bettembourg (L). The presence of all finalists in the age category 18 to 26 years is mandatory. In case of non-attendance, the authors will be excluded from the competition.
  • During the final on Sunday, 24 April 2022, the finalists will have to read their text in front of the jury and the public, if necessary only an extract from the pre-selected text. This reading is limited to 7 minutes per participant.
  • The finalists and winners in the age category 12 to 17 will be announced at the grand finale on 24 April 2022 and will be informed by email on 25 April 2022. 
  • The finalists present at the finale are invited to participate in a 5-day author residency starting 25 April 2022 in Bettembourg (L) where workshops, sightseeing, debates around literature are on the agenda. They will stay with host families residing in the municipality of Bettembourg (L), selected by the organisers.
  • Deadline for participation is 31 October 2021 at 23:59 (GMT +1 time zone)
  • Texts that are vulgar or that advocate political or religious proselytism or hate speech will not be accepted.
  • All texts submitted will become part of the Prix Laurence archives and will be visible on the website www.prixlaurence.lu
  • The texts of the finalists will be published in an anthology, the right of use is the responsibility of the Municipality of Bettembourg.

Esch 2022
Esch 2022

Prix Laurence Wettbewerbsregeln

 

  • Der Prix Laurence prämiert Werke aller literarischen Genres, die in luxemburgischer, deutscher, französischer, englischer, litauischer, portugiesischer und italienischer Sprache von jungen AutorInnen aller Nationalitäten im Alter zwischen 12 und 26 Jahren verfasst wurden.
  • Das Alter der Teilnehmer ist das Alter, in dem der Text auf die Website hochgeladen wird.
  • Es gibt kein vorgegebenes Thema und die Themen sind völlig frei.
  • Jeder Teilnehmer garantiert die Originalität der von ihm eingereichten Texte und die eingereichten Texte müssen unveröffentlicht sein. Sie dürfen vor der Veröffentlichung der Wettbewerbsergebnisse weder ganz noch auszugsweise veröffentlicht oder auf irgendeine Weise verbreitet werden.
  • Die Einsendungen müssen auf der Website www.prixlaurence.lu im Bereich "Teilnahme und Bedingungen" / "Teilnahmeformular" hochgeladen werden.
  • Die Teilnehmer werden in 2 Alterskategorien gewertet: 12-17 Jahre und 18 - 26 Jahre.
  • Die luxemburgische, litauische, italienische und portugiesische Jury setzt sich aus Mitgliedern zusammen, die sich auf dem Gebiet der Literatur durch ihre Diplome, Veröffentlichungen oder ihren Beruf ausgezeichnet haben. Die Beratungen der Jurys finden hinter verschlossenen Türen statt. Die Entscheidungen der Jury sind endgültig. Die Jury beantwortet keine Fragen der Teilnehmer zu den Ergebnissen des Wettbewerbs.
  • Die Texte in litauischer, italienischer und portugiesischer Sprache werden zur Vorauswahl einer Jury in Litauen, Italien und Portugal vorgelegt. Diese Texte werden dann ins Englische oder Französische übersetzt und der luxemburgischen Jury zur Endauswahl vorgelegt.
  • Das große Finale findet am Sonntag, 24. April 2022 in Bettemburg (L) statt. Die Anwesenheit aller Finalisten in der Alterskategorie 18 bis 26 Jahre ist Pflicht. Bei Nichtanwesenheit werden die AutorInnen vom Wettbewerb ausgeschlossen.
  • Während des Finales am Sonntag, 24. April 2022, müssen die FinalistInnen ihren Text vor der Jury und dem Publikum lesen, ggf. nur einen Auszug aus dem vorausgewählten Text. Diese Lesung ist auf 7 Minuten pro Teilnehmer begrenzt.
  • Die Finalisten und Gewinner in der Alterskategorie 12 bis 17 Jahre werden beim großen Finale am 24. April 2022 bekannt gegeben und am 25. April 2022 per E-Mail informiert. 
  • Die beim Finale anwesenden Finalisten werden zur Teilnahme an einer 5-tägigen Autorenresidenz (ab 25. April 2022) in Bettemburg (L) eingeladen, bei der Workshops, Besichtigungen und Debatten rund um Literatur auf dem Programm stehen. Sie werden bei Gastfamilien in der Gemeinde Bettemburg (L) wohnen, die von den Organisatoren ausgewählt werden.
  • Teilnahmeschluss ist der 31. Oktober 2021 um 23:59 Uhr (GMT +1 Zeitzone)
  • Texte, die vulgär sind oder die politischen oder religiösen Proselytismus oder Hassreden befürworten, werden nicht akzeptiert.
  • Alle eingereichten Texte werden Teil des Prix-Laurence-Archivs und sind auf der Website www.prixlaurence.lu sichtbar.
  • Die Texte der Finalisten werden in einer Anthologie veröffentlicht, das Nutzungsrecht liegt bei der Gemeinde Bettemburg.